On the verge of a panic attack? Check your Muladhara!

If you are more anxious or stressed these days, you are one of 300 million people globally (and rapidly increasing!) who is suffering from anxiety. The figure is no laughing matter. But what if a simple few steps that attend to your Chakra, you can kick these suffocating feelings?

Firstly, Do any of these sound like you?

  • Drinking a little too much alcohol because it makes you feel good
  • Turning to substance abuse to feel numb
  • Feeling more impatient and bursting into anger too often
  • Wondering if anything in life is worth it 
  • Feeling on edge with rapid heartbeat
  • Racing thoughts that is hard to slow down
  • Fears that become unbearable

These feelings and emotions relate to your Muladhara or Root Chakra. 

What is Chakra? 

Chakra is a Sanskrit term that translates to wheel. Chakras are energy centres that govern the distribution and flow of Prana (Energy, Life Force, Ki, Chi and so on) through our system. 

Our body has 7 major and many minor chakras. The 7 major chakras are situated from base of spine to the top of head. These are the psychic centres of the astral body that control a group of functions. 

Chemicals are released in the body when we are under stress from things around us. This is great if the threat is real but if it is from an unreal threat the body has to deal with the extra energy and strength with no real outlet. 

Is my Chakra off? 

When we are overwhelmed by the emotions associated with the major Chakras we feel physically off, emotionally unbalanced and detached from the universe. 

But with a few simple steps and dedication we can help it by releasing the feelings associated with each Chakra. 

The 7 chakras are associated with the colors of the rainbow. You can visualise these colors internally when you chant. 

The First Chakra

Muladhara or Root Chakra

Represents: Being Grounded and Survival 

Blocked by: Feelings of Fear and insecurity

Location: Base of the Spine

Color: Red

Mantra: Lam

Governs: Functioning of the lower body such as Bladder, Kidney, Lower Spine and Back. 

Governs Emotions: Confidence, Stress Response (Fight of Flight) 

Purpose: Connects your energy with the earth called Grounding. 

Why should I work on my Muladhara Chakra? 

By healing the Root Chakra you are helping the energy to flow properly throughout the body. Root Chakra is the foundation of all Chakras so it is important that Root Chakra functions properly. No matter how hard you work the others, if your Muladhara is off you won’t get the release. 

Symptoms of Overactive Muladhara Chakra: 

Feelings of anxiety and restlessness and feeling out of balance.  You will feel the need to fight or flight for no real reason. 

Symptoms of Underactive Muladhara Chakra:

Inability to focus, accident prone, feeling disconnected to the world around you. You might feel “spaced out” or as if you are floating. 

What can I do? 

  1. Explore

Write down what you are most afraid of


  • Fear of losing your job 
  • Fear of public speaking
  • Fear of getting sick

2. Actions

Do things that will help you overcome those fears 


  • Upskill yourself
  • Take a course in Public Speaking
  • Make healthy food choices and exercise

3. Ground yourself and Energize

  • Take a walk on the grass in bare feet
  • Be near trees
  • Surround yourself with plants
  • Tend to your garden 

4. Meditate by humming LAM as you breathe ou

  1. Listen to 396Hz Solfeggio frequency
  2. Keep stones with the same vibrational frequencies:
    1. Hematite
    2. Jet
    3. Smokey Quartz
    4. Rhodochrosite
    5. Red Jasper
    6. Bloodstone
    7. Red Carnelian
  3. Chant Muladhara Affirmations: 
    1. “I am Centered” 
    2. “I am Grounded” 
    3. “I am safe” 
    4. “I am secure” 

If you found this helpful, please let us know. We will focus on the other Chakras in the coming weeks. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Warning: Undefined array key "cookies" in /home/sshsnet/public_html/wp-content/themes/tada/functions.php on line 218